Call Today 888.740.5140
Your Compassionate Guide Through the Maze of Uncertainty

Same-Sex Marriages Now Recognized in All 50 States

As of June 26, 2015, all 50 states in the U.S. are required to both grant and recognize same-sex marriages as legal civil marriages. The decision regarding the Obergefell v. Hodges case was made by the U.S. Supreme Court in a close 5-4 vote.

In the case syllabus, it was declared that the right to marry is something that is fundamental to a person’s liberty under the Fourteenth Amendment. While the vote was narrow, it now requires all 14 states that previously had banned same-sex marriage to lift their ruling.

This affects the following states: Texas, Tennessee, Alabama, Arkansas, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, most of Missouri, North Dakota, South Dakota, Ohio, Michigan, Nebraska and Kentucky.

To read more about this ruling and what it could mean for those seeking same-sex marriages in the U.S., check out this article from CNN.